One of the 108 Temples & Celestial Abodes of Vishnu revered by the Tamil hymns of the Alwars of the 1st millennium CE

Location: Tirukkaavalampaadi near Sirkazhi
Chola Naadu)
Vishnu: Gopalakrishnan
Taayaar: Senkamala Naachiyaar
Paasuram :Tirumangaialwar
Vimaanam:Swayambu Vimanam
Travel Base:Chidambaram 
Other: One of the 11 Tirunangur Divya Desams closely associated with Tirumangaialwar
mangai.jpg (32466 bytes)
Description: This Divya Desam is located at a distance of 10 km from Sirkazhi enroute to Tiruvenkadu and Poompuhaar and is one of the 11 Tirunaangur Divya Desams. This shrine is also known as Keezhchattanaathapuram and Kannan Koyil. Located here is Tirukkuraiyalur, the birthplace of Tirumangaialwar.

Deities: The Moolavar here is Gopalakrishnan   with his consorts Rukmani and Satyabhama portrayed  in a standing posture facing east bearing a rope and with his left arm on a cow. Taayaar here is Madavaral Mangai (Senkamala Naachiyaar). There is no separate sanctum for Taayar. The utsavar here is Rajagopalan. This east facing temple has a single prakaram.

Legends: Legend has it that, to honor the request of Satyabhama, Krishna went far and wide in search of the parijata flower; after a long search Krishna meditated upon Shiva, who revealed to him a lake filled with parijata flowers at this place. The theertham here is referred to as thatamalar poikai.  Given Krishna's presence with Rukmani and Satyabhama, this shrine is considered equivalent to Dwarka.

The Tirunaangur Divya Desams: 11 Divya Desams in the vicinity of Sirkazhi, Tiruvaali and Tirunagari (the birthplace of Tirumangaialwar) are associated closely with Tirumangaialwar. Legend has it that Shiva performed the Ekadasa Rudra Aswamedha Yagam, to rid himself of the blemish of Bhramahatti; Vishnu is believed to have appeared in his presence with Sree Devi, Bhu Devi and Nila Devi at the end of the sacrifice, and upon Shiva's request, taken up 11 abodes here in the Tirunangur area, which correspond to the 11 Tirunaangur Divya Desams held in worship by Rudra.

Only Tirumangaialwar has sung of these 11 Divya Desams. The  Tirunaangur Divya Desam shrines are Kavalampaadi, Tiruvanpurushottamam, Arimeya VinnagaramChemponseikoyil, Manimaadakkoyil (Narayanan), Vaikuntha VinnagaramTirudevanaar Togai, Tiruttetriambalam, Manikkootam, Tiruvellakkulam, and  Parthanpalli.

Festivals: Two worship services are carried out each day; and the Rohini asterism in the tamil month of Aavani is celebrated here.

The Tirumangaialwar Mangalasasana utsavam in the month of Thai (after the new moon night) witnesses Garudasevai - a spectacular event in which festival images of Perumaal from the 11 (Tirunaangur) Divya Desam shrines in the area are brought on  Garuda mounts to Tirunangur. An image of Tirumangai Alwar is brought here on a Hamsa Vahanam (from Tirunagari) and the his paasurams (verses)  dedicated to each of these 11 Divya Desams are recited. The image of Tirumangaialwar circumambulates each of these deities, and at the conclusion of the festival, the images are returned to their temples. Prior to this, the image of Tirumangaialwar and his consort are taken in a palanquin to each of the 11 Tirunangur Divya Desams, (trampling)  through the paddy fields in the area, and the paasurams dedicated to each of the 11 Divya Desams are chanted in the respective shrines. The Ekadasa Garuda Sevai is the most important festivals in this area, and it draws thousands of visitors.

Abodes of Vishnu          Templenet Homepage     108 Divya Desam Index