Tiruttolaivillimangalam (Irattaittiruppati)

One of the 108 Temples & Celestial Abodes of Vishnu revered by the Tamil hymns of the Alwars of the 1st millennium CE

Location: Irattaittiruppati near Sree Vaikuntham
Pandya Naadu)
Vishnu: Srinivasan, Aravindalochanan
Taayaar: Karuntadankanni
Theertham:Varuna Theertham
Paasuram :Nammalwar
Vimaanam:Kumuda Vimanam
Travel Base:Tirunelveli

nammalwar.jpg (22525 bytes)

Description Tiruttolaivillimangalam constitutes the third and fourth of the nine Nava Tiruppatis in Tirunelveli district in the belt between Tirunelveli and the coastal shrine of Tiruchendur. Tolaivilimangalam is hailed as a Ketu Stalam.

Only Nammalwar, who resided at Alwar Tirunagari, has sung of these nine shrines Tiruvaikuntham, Varagunamangai, Pulinkudi, Tolaivillimangalam, Tirukkulandai, Tirukkolur, Tirupperai and Tirukkurugoor collectively referred to as Alwar Navatiruppati. Tolaivillimangalam referred to as Irattai Tirupati, counts as two in the scheme of Nava Tirupatis, but as one of the 108 Divya Desams. 

Nammalwar has sung of these Tiruttolaivillimangalam in a total of 11 verses where he refers to Vishnu as Nedumaal, Devapiraan, Tamaraitadankannan and Aravindalochanan.

Deities: The first of the two temples, here enshrines Srinivasan (Devapiran) in a standing posture facing east. This temple has two prakarams. The second temple with 2 prakarams enshrines Aravindalochanan in a seated posture facing east and his consort is Karuntadankanni Naachiyaar. These temples underwent renovation in 1998.

Legend has it that a man and a woman who had been cursed by Kuberan to assume the forms of a measuring scale (Tulai) and a bow (Villi), were relieved of their curse by a sage Atreya Suprabha here, hence the name Tulaivillimangalam. Legend also has it that Indra, Vayu and Varuna worshipped Vishnu here. The senthaamaraikkannan - Aravindalochanan temple has a different set of legends related to the Ashwini twins worshipping Vishnu here with red lotus flowers.

Abodes of Vishnu          Templenet Homepage     108 Divya Desam Index