One of the 108 Temples & Celestial Abodes of Vishnu revered by the Tamil hymns of the Alwars of the 1st millennium CE

Location: Anbil nearLalgudi
Chola Naadu)
Vishnu: Vadivazhagiya Nambi
Taayaar: Azhagiyavalli
Paasuram :Tirumazhisai
Vimaanam:Taaraka Vimanam
Travel Base:Tiruchirappalli

p3and4.jpg (14879 bytes)

Description: This Divyadesam is located at a distance of about 8km from Lalgudi; across the river Kollidam is Koyiladi. The Pancharanga Kshetrams along the course of the Kaveri are Srirangapatnam (Karnataka), Srirangam, Koyiladi (Anbil) and Kumbhakonam and Indalur (Mayiladuturai). Anbil is also known by the names Tirumaalayanturai, Mandookapuri, Bhrahmapuri.

This Divyadesam is referred to by a paasuram of Tirumazhisai Alwar where he addresses seven shrines featuring Vishnu in a reclining position - Tirukkudandai, Tiruvegkaa, Tiruvallur, Tiruvarangam, Tiruppernagar, Anbil and Tirupparkadal.

Also in Anbil, is located the Anbilalanturai Shivastalam enshrining Satyavaageeswarar and Soundaranayaki.

The temple: covering an area of about an acre has a three tiered Rajagopuram and an east facing sanctum with one prakaram.

Deities: The moolavar here is Vadivazagiya Nambi in a reclining posture facing East, while the Utsavar is Sundararajan. Taayaar is known by the name Azhagiyavalli.

Legend has it that Bhrama and Valmiki worshipped Vishnu here. A similar legend holds at the Anbilalanturai Shivastalam. Legend also has it that Mandookamuni in his state of intense underwater penance failed to pay his respects to the arriving Durvasa muni who cursed him to take up the form of a toad. Upon worshipping Vishnu at this shrine, the sage was relieved of his curse, and hence the name Mandooka pushkarini.

History: It is learned from temple inscriptions that Sundara Cholan - the Imperial Chola monarch offered worship at this shrine, by placing his sword in front of the sanctum, prior to his venturing out on battles. Inscriptions here reveal information on the grants made by this emperor to the temple.

Abodes of Vishnu          Templenet Homepage     108 Divya Desam Index